The inaugural of ANDI Board meeting was hosted by the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA) on 11-12 Janaury 2011, and this saw the establishment of the ANDI Board. ANDI Board membership comprises representation from each of the 5 subregions of Africa, leading health experts, a representative from the African Diaspora, and key institutional partners - UNECA (legal hosts for ANDI), the World Health Organization (WHO), and the African Development Bank (AfDB).

The Board has the following functions:

  • Review and approve an administrative framework developed by UNOPS governing the relationship of the ANDI Secretariat with UNOPS.

  • Review and advise upon the planning and execution of ANDI operations.

  • Approve the proposed plan of action and budget for the coming financial period, prepared by the ANDI Director, developed through the official processes of the executing agency.

  • Review and approve arrangements for the financing of ANDI.

  • Review proposed longer-term plans of action and their financial implications.

  • Review the annual financial statements submitted by the Executing Agency, as well as the audit report thereon, submitted by the External Auditor of the Executing Agency,

  • Review periodic reports which evaluate the progress of ANDI towards the achievement of its objectives.

  • Review the level and nature of support provided to ANDI by the collaborating agencies.

  • Approve STAC membership.

  • Consider such other matters relating to ANDI as may be referred to it by any Cooperating Party.

  • Establish committees as it deems appropriate

  • Support the ANDI Secretariat in fundraising and advocacy

  • Approve the selection of ANDI Executive Director following UNOPS selection processes


From left to right: Mr Issa Matta (WHO), Prof. Barthélémy Nyasse (University of Bamenda, Cameroon), Mr Bamidele Ilebani (UNOPS),

         Prof. Elizabeth Molyneux (University of Malawi), Dr Solomon Nwaka (ANDI), Dr Tshinko Ilunga (Vice Chair), Dr Charles Mwandawiro (KEMRI),

          Dr John Reeder (WHO/TDR), Prof. Mahmoud Sakr (Egyptian Academy of Sciences), Dr Kebede Derege (WHO AFRO).

Board Members:

  • Mr. James Macharia Wainaina, Co-Chair of ANDI Board, Cabinet Secretary for Health, Ministry of Health, Kenya

  • Dr Tshinko Ilung, Vice Chair of ANDI Board Consultant, Healthdevcons

  • Prof. Solomon Mpoke , CEO Kenya Medical Research Council (KEMRI)

  • Ms Worknesh Mekonnen , Board member  UNOPS

  • Dr Zafar Mirza    , Rep WHO/HQ, WHO

  • Dr Matshidiso Moeti, Rep WHO/AFRO, WHO

  • Dr Derege Kebede , Rep WHO/AFRO, WHO

  • Dr Kevin Mccarthy, Observer EU, EU

  • Dr Stephane Hogan, Observer EU, EU

  • Prof Mahmoud Sakr ,Board member, President Egyptian Academy of Sciences

  • Mr Issa Matta , WHO Legal council, WHO Legal

  • Dr Barthelemy Nyasse, Chair STAC  Deputy Vice Chancelor, University of Bamenda

  • Excellency Dr. Mustapha Sidiki Kaloko, observer AU, Commissioner for Social Affairs at the African Union Commission

  • Dr John Reeder, Director, TDR, WHO

  • Dr Ayo Ajayi, Director Africa, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

  • Kristoffer Gandrup-Marino, Chief of Innovation UNICEF







Follow us:-


 UNDP - RSCA Building
 Addis Ababa, Ethiopia


 Tel: +41782181596 / +251911236553

Template Settings


For each color, the params below will give default values
Blue Red Cyan Green Orange


Background Color
Text Color
Layout Style
Select menu